art,conversion,Jesuit,China

A Chinese Mary ~ Joseph ~ Jesus

UPDATE: (This shot may be from an Anglican conversion effort)

The Jesuits understood that an European Jesus wouldn’t work in China

About 20 years ago I was attending the Divinity School connected to Silliman University. One day I dropped into the pastors office while they were doing a little spring cleaning. I looked in an old shoe box and found 17 black and white post cardish photos. Seems that the JESUITS had decided to use a traditional Chinese Jesus to help with the conversion attempt in China. They also used traditional Chinese characters to portray various biblical characters. I quickly headed over to the office of the same fellow that just built my computer and he put them all on disc. Doing a bit of my own spring cleaning today I found the disc. This shot is the Easter shot.

Jesuit,Jesus,China,conversion, art work
The Jesuits have many faults but not understanding human nature is not one of them.

 The Old Man

One comment on “A Chinese Mary ~ Joseph ~ Jesus

Let me know what you think

