spider , web , righteous, eightfold path, smart,stupid

Fourth Truth: You Will Live Nobly Or Ignobly

2 Samyutta Nikayn II, 47.
Let us reframe the Four Noble Truths. “Cessation,” the Third Noble Truth, means the absence of suffering, which is the presence of wellbeing. Instead of saying “cessation,” we can simply say “well-being.” If we do that, we can call the Fourth Noble Truth “the Noble Eightfold Path That Leads to Well-Being.” Then, instead of just calling the Second Noble Truth “the origin of suffering,” we can say that there is an ignoble eightfold path that leads to suffering, a “path of eight wrong practices” — wrong view, wrong thinking, wrong speech, wrong action, wrong livelihood, wrong diligence, wrong mindfulness, and wrong concentration.”

I’m going to say it again: I’m not trying to convert anyone. Whether you are a Muslim, Jew, Christian, Atheist or Agnostic the truths I am describing and the practices that will follow can be used within your world view.

If you become intentional about monitoring your thoughts, words and actions you can transform much of the negative in your life into positive. But it will take both work and time. You can with effort stop yourself from hating, lying, gossiping, wanting what is not yours and even hurting the ones you love or whom love you.

The good news is that the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path are all interconnected. Like a spiders web if you touch one part you effect all parts. If you work on lessening the effect of hateful thoughts you will also increase the power of loving thoughts.

The Old Man


Let me know what you think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s