Last Night I Was Face To Face With A Sleeping Snake

February 29, 2016

Hi Luv et alii,

snake,coconut tree, close up.
I like snakes, they have a beauty all their own.

Last night, as is my want, I went for a stroll around the garden. The stars were covered so I was paying more attention to where my feet were going than my head.

Then I simply stopped. Something wasn’t right. I raised both flashlight and eyes and there about a foot ahead of me, sleeping on some branches that his weight had bowed down to just my heads height was this beauty.

I slowly backed away and went inside. I thought about going back to try for a shot. I thought about waking up this fellow with the cameras flash and decided to wait until morning. When I went out in the morning he had changed his position. Instead of being majestically draped over the branches he was stretched out.

I went up as close as I thought reasonable and got some interesting shots before he slithered off into the neighbors yard.

Lest you think me either brave or foolish this is a coconut tree snake and unless they are in a bad mood they are harmless. Even if they bite they are not poisonous.

Take care, stay safe,
The Old Man

Let me know what you think

